Fucking-fan-tastic!
Honestly, I don't know what could go wrong right now.
Don't have to deal with any shit & roommates are legit!
(See what I did there!)
Well, one's a little creepy drunk, but whatever.
I think I could be considered a little creepy drunk...
Maybe...
Whaaaaaaateveeeer!
Okay so let's talk about THE FIRST DAY.
The first person I saw was none other than my Cameroon, who was wearing just about the coolest purple shirt I've ever seen. And y'know, I've seen a lot of neat purple stuff. I was so excited to see him I was SHAKING. Overreaction, much? Yes. Oh well. I love Cam!
Saw Tanner as I was carrying a bunch of pillows to my new found home (an awesome apartment, in Porter's G-UNIT!) and just basically yelled "TANNER!" and tried to look as happy as possible with uh... like 5 pillows in my arms. I ended up giving him a hug later.
I think I saw Alec next. After I called his little brother Alec. Ooops. That was minorly horrible. Then I started to see people one by one, I think I ran into Logan, and then Dylan and Cory... I dunno. Don't remember now. And for the record, Dylan gave me the best hug by far, but Cory was bringin' the heat. Not like she doesn't naturally, anyway, but yeah. You go girl!
And I've got to mention Logan more because he said he reads my blog and that made me smile!
Er... and by mention I mean I want to write something nice to tell him how much I appreciate him. 'Cause c'mon, everyone can use that right?
K SO! I met Logan in creative writing last year. We became fast friends because we bonded over all the crappy things going on in our lives... and y'know, we enjoyed each other's company as well. (Not to mention Josh and Dana's) Either way, we'd walk back to Porter from 9/10 or sometimes to Fish Rap (he'd go with me, and it made me so happy!) And I remember one night Mark, Cam and I were at Cafe Rev, and all of us ended up playing Pirate Life. Which consisted of awesomenss and ganging up on Mark and Cameron. YEEEESSS! Well anyway, after that fun, we all went back to the B5 lounge where everyone else was completely trashed. People drinking straight vodka out of coffee mugs, etc. We played Apples to Apples until like 4 AM, and after a night of intense fun and games, c'mon, you just gotta be friends for a while! Luckily, that happened. THEN, of course, 'cause I'm crazy as hell and prefer to sabotage my friendships apparently, I developed a crush on him... and he wasn't interested and he handled it very well! I am very appreciative of that, and we're still awesome friends because we both handled it right.
Anyway, that's a quick run-down on Logan. All you need to know essentially though is he's awesome.
So things I'd like to say:
You are seriously a really, really, really wonderful person and I'm so glad I got to meet you! I can't believe that anyone would ever think you to be an asshole. You were the first person at college who I felt like could really understand how it was for me at home... and our timing in meeting was near flawless. I'm so glad I made such a good friend when I was in such need! I was so upset about Mark, and you so... just angry that your people were treating you like crap, and we were each other's vent and it was so good! Because you didn't know anyone! I could bitch and whine and moan and say whatever the hell I pleased because somehow I guess I knew it was okay. I dunno. You were just a really wonderful thing that happened to me last year who helped me get through mindless bullshit, and I just wanted to let you know, since you read this, and you def deserve to be told how awesome you are more often. I have a lot of fun being your friend, because you're one of the most entertaining people I've EVER met, and I hope we have more years of... just plain 'ole happiness to come!
♥ Darlene
I always feel like I seem weird and kind of obsessive when I write on this blog, but honestly, I just care so much for people and I don't see anything wrong in letting them know. Wouldn't the world be a better place if more people did so, anyway?
Erm. Done with huge sidetrack. Aha!
Let's continue with the first day -- and by day I mean night, because the other parts of daylight consisted of me running around far too much for my own personal hygiene and lung capacity.
Anyway, our friends have a house off campus.
With a 7/11 next door.
We had booze.
We had friends.
There was excitement.
& we had fun.
And by FUN I mean Logan did the dishes at like 3-4 AM and cut himself with a cutco knife.
I dunno how that's fun, but we all had a good night!
I dunno what else exactly to say about that night, except for I got in to my apartment at 6:30 AM.
Was kind of proud of myself. Welcome back to college, eh?!
Monday I slept in. A lot. Then decorated my room. It looks rockin'.
Tuesday I spent a good part of the day grocery shopping with the friendlies. Then we went to the bookstore, hung out for a bit, and proceeded to go to the Boardwalk Frolic whiiiccch was lame as shit. I shall never attend it again. Also had to wait an hour for the bus to get to te metro that night. Fuck that shit. In the butt.
Weds was pretty sweet. Woke up early-ish, hung out for a while, went to Casey's, saw her awesome Halloween costume, told her I love her 'cause I do, and played some Shithead. Went back to my place to find Ryan preparing for his jazz audition (which of course, he did well on, duh!) Hung out for a big to find Cam, Tanner, Dylan and Cory at my door telling me it was time to see Scott Pilgrim. I'm so glad I went. That movie was phenomenal. So entertaining.
Which leads to some interesting developments!
After Scott Pilgrim, we went to the D-hall, ate the good noms, and went back to Tanner and Dylan's to watch Glee. I got to watch most of Glee. Most of it. Because Michael Block called me 5 minutes before it ended to tell me he was on campus to visit! EXCITING!
Anyway. Hung out with him until like, midnight. All was well. Really well. I might like him now well. Then it was today and I had to get up at the crack of dawn. Horray. Fuckin' class.
BUUUUUT Michael was back after class and that was exciting! Except he was bored. Because I'm a bad hostess (BUT A GOOD CUPCAKE!!) but that's okay. Then Cam and I had lunch, and I went to my jazz dance class, which was as amazing as I had expected it to be. Hell to the fuck yeah. Coming back from class I ran into Michael again!! And he came over again! ARGH SO EXCITED. But then Ryan came over and Michael seriously may like Ryan more than me. The broffection, it is so intense. He left around 6-ish, I think. I dunno. Nuffin' happened. Tomorrow he's coming around again, and we're going to go see Fight Club at the Del Marr and it's going to be awesome. Hello date night! Yahoo!
Anyway, college so far this year has been freaking amazing. So freaking amazing.
I'll update you more when I can, dear blogger, but I'm gonna have a metric shitton of work to do soon! Oh nooooooooooooess! :(
Showing posts with label Porter College. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Porter College. Show all posts
Thursday, September 23, 2010
Sunday, January 24, 2010
First Rain Recap
So, like, um,
it's about uh,
a
few
months
since First Rain even happened,
and I've been meaning to write about it for a while, 'n stuff.
Yeppp.
ANYWAY.
First Rain.
Epic.
So, the morning of the planned "First Rain,"
I put on my shiny red underwear.
They've got sequins on them.
BWAHAHAHAHA :]
They're kinda awesome.
So, I wore those all day to try and prepare myself for the night.
THE NIGHT, THE CRAZY EPIC NIGHT THAT WAS TO COME!
Well, that worked.
I was debating if I was actually going to run First Rain all day,
but the red underwear
and Allyson
and Julia
and Ryan
all helped me decide that taking my clothes off and running around the forest in the rain at night
...was a good idea...
AND IT WAS.
...what?! XD
AWESOME!
Anyway, around, like, 10 PM,
it started raining again,
and good lord, it had been raining hardcore earlier that day,
so First Rain was def going down
down down down ↓
Yep!
SOOOO, I brought up a towel to the lounge,
...and left it there...
for later...
then, I got left behind...
XD FAIL!
So I ran downstairs, with my clothes still on and stuff,
and got out to the Porter quad,
where I saw masses of naked people
Oh, I love Porter.
I found Allyson, Ryan, Julia, and the other people we were running with: Casey, Rayne, Asher, and Cooper
They're all good friends of mine now. :]
So, uh, I took my pants off...
...and my shirt...
annnnnd
then I was standing in the Porter quad, half naked.
Cool.
I had Allyson take my bra off,
and then
it started.
HOLYFUCKNAKEDRUNNINGPEOPLEPARTSMOVINGWHOOOAAAA
...it was fun... :]
We ran up through Kresge, where we were joined by many people,
'cause Kresge is actually cool 'n stuff.
The streets were lined with those who wanted to see the awesomeness that was naked running people.
The awesomeness, it was so intense.
We continued running, and uh,
Vans
don't really have all that great of traction
so
um
I kinda
slipped
a few
times
and stuff
:(
The group actually moved fairly quickly, so uh,
I kinda couldn't breathe and stuff
and...
y'know
there was that uh
giant splint on my arm
'cause my hand was broken!
It was covered in a giant trash bag,
and Riley had wrote
"ARM CONDOM" on it :]
It's on my wall now, it's so awesome!
Anyway, that kinda slowed me down a bit
so I ended up at the back of the pack
with the chick with the viking hat on
She's from my hall. Really nice.
and we just kinda took
a shortcut or two
and enjoyed a naked stroll
through UCSC~!
It was freakin' fatabulous!
We caught up with the group and eventually ended up at Opers
which is the gym-type place
that has an Olympic-sized swimming pool
that a whole shit load of naked people might've jumped over a fence to swim in
Wet. Naked. People. Running. WTFFF
Then I lost my viking friend for a little, but ran into Liz!
Who was a little schwasted, but oh man, I think she was content with life.
After that we ran through the bookstore area, and got a little lost...
and I found Julia and Allyson again!
...then I lost them, again.
Deeeeeeeerp.
Uuuuhhh... then we were heading back to Porter
and I ran into my roommate!
and she was like HEEEEEEEEEEEY
and I was like HEEEEEEEEY
It was great.
Then we were in like a naked circle of awesome, chanting "Nudity is unity!"
and Ryan was there!
in his pea-coat
which I found to be oh so amusing.
Then
then...
I had a moment.
A wonderful, beautiful, amazing moment.
I felt free.
I felt beautiful.
I felt amazing.
I was amazing.
Being naked with a lot of other naked people is really fun.
Well, we finally got back to Porter,
and I got my towel from the lounge
and turned around to see Asher's GIANT FUCKING HORSECOCK
Then we had a shower party!
There's nothing better than showering with your new friends to learn how to be comfortable around them!
Woohoo~!
The shower was so warm.
We were in the handicap stall in B5 center... so we had like 6 or 7 people in there.
Someone had the shower head thing, and that person was all just kinda spraying us down.
It was. So. Awesome.
Then we went to the dining hall in our pajamas.
'Cause we could.
and we had a wonderful and amazing feast.
Then we all kinda passed out.
FUCK YEAH FIRST RAIN!
It was an amazing, awesome, and fantastic experience I'll never forget.
and daaaaaaaaaaaamn dude, I can't wait to do it again next year!
it's about uh,
a
few
months
since First Rain even happened,
and I've been meaning to write about it for a while, 'n stuff.
Yeppp.
ANYWAY.
First Rain.
Epic.
So, the morning of the planned "First Rain,"
I put on my shiny red underwear.
They've got sequins on them.
BWAHAHAHAHA :]
They're kinda awesome.
So, I wore those all day to try and prepare myself for the night.
THE NIGHT, THE CRAZY EPIC NIGHT THAT WAS TO COME!
Well, that worked.
I was debating if I was actually going to run First Rain all day,
but the red underwear
and Allyson
and Julia
and Ryan
all helped me decide that taking my clothes off and running around the forest in the rain at night
...was a good idea...
AND IT WAS.
...what?! XD
AWESOME!
Anyway, around, like, 10 PM,
it started raining again,
and good lord, it had been raining hardcore earlier that day,
so First Rain was def going down
down down down ↓
Yep!
SOOOO, I brought up a towel to the lounge,
...and left it there...
for later...
then, I got left behind...
XD FAIL!
So I ran downstairs, with my clothes still on and stuff,
and got out to the Porter quad,
where I saw masses of naked people
Oh, I love Porter.
I found Allyson, Ryan, Julia, and the other people we were running with: Casey, Rayne, Asher, and Cooper
They're all good friends of mine now. :]
So, uh, I took my pants off...
...and my shirt...
annnnnd
then I was standing in the Porter quad, half naked.
Cool.
I had Allyson take my bra off,
and then
it started.
HOLYFUCKNAKEDRUNNINGPEOPLEPARTSMOVINGWHOOOAAAA
...it was fun... :]
We ran up through Kresge, where we were joined by many people,
'cause Kresge is actually cool 'n stuff.
The streets were lined with those who wanted to see the awesomeness that was naked running people.
The awesomeness, it was so intense.
We continued running, and uh,
Vans
don't really have all that great of traction
so
um
I kinda
slipped
a few
times
and stuff
:(
The group actually moved fairly quickly, so uh,
I kinda couldn't breathe and stuff
and...
y'know
there was that uh
giant splint on my arm
'cause my hand was broken!
It was covered in a giant trash bag,
and Riley had wrote
"ARM CONDOM" on it :]
It's on my wall now, it's so awesome!
Anyway, that kinda slowed me down a bit
so I ended up at the back of the pack
with the chick with the viking hat on
She's from my hall. Really nice.
and we just kinda took
a shortcut or two
and enjoyed a naked stroll
through UCSC~!
It was freakin' fatabulous!
We caught up with the group and eventually ended up at Opers
which is the gym-type place
that has an Olympic-sized swimming pool
that a whole shit load of naked people might've jumped over a fence to swim in
Wet. Naked. People. Running. WTFFF
Then I lost my viking friend for a little, but ran into Liz!
Who was a little schwasted, but oh man, I think she was content with life.
After that we ran through the bookstore area, and got a little lost...
and I found Julia and Allyson again!
...then I lost them, again.
Deeeeeeeerp.
Uuuuhhh... then we were heading back to Porter
and I ran into my roommate!
and she was like HEEEEEEEEEEEY
and I was like HEEEEEEEEY
It was great.
Then we were in like a naked circle of awesome, chanting "Nudity is unity!"
and Ryan was there!
in his pea-coat
which I found to be oh so amusing.
Then
then...
I had a moment.
A wonderful, beautiful, amazing moment.
I felt free.
I felt beautiful.
I felt amazing.
I was amazing.
Being naked with a lot of other naked people is really fun.
Well, we finally got back to Porter,
and I got my towel from the lounge
and turned around to see Asher's GIANT FUCKING HORSECOCK
Then we had a shower party!
There's nothing better than showering with your new friends to learn how to be comfortable around them!
Woohoo~!
The shower was so warm.
We were in the handicap stall in B5 center... so we had like 6 or 7 people in there.
Someone had the shower head thing, and that person was all just kinda spraying us down.
It was. So. Awesome.
Then we went to the dining hall in our pajamas.
'Cause we could.
and we had a wonderful and amazing feast.
Then we all kinda passed out.
FUCK YEAH FIRST RAIN!
It was an amazing, awesome, and fantastic experience I'll never forget.
and daaaaaaaaaaaamn dude, I can't wait to do it again next year!
Sunday, October 18, 2009
First Rain Wiki
→ First Rain is an annual event held at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) beginning at Porter College. It is also known as Naked Run and Porter Run. During the first rainfall of the school year, students run naked through the campus, starting at Porter College at 10:10pm, stopping in each college and gathering more runners, before returning to Porter for a drum circle. To officially be considered "first rain", it must have been raining from at least 7:00pm-10:00pm on a school night.
→ First Rain started in fall of 1989, following the weeks of the Loma Prieta earthquake. Students, afraid to sleep inside the Porter College dorms, would sleep outside in the quad. Upon developing an outside lifestyle of playing small games like Simon Says, students dared each other to strip and run around campus naked. Aiming to make this event a yearly tradition as it is at other universities, the students decided on running during the first rain of every school year (since other events, like the first school day or first snow had already been taken by other universities).
→ First Rain started in fall of 1989, following the weeks of the Loma Prieta earthquake. Students, afraid to sleep inside the Porter College dorms, would sleep outside in the quad. Upon developing an outside lifestyle of playing small games like Simon Says, students dared each other to strip and run around campus naked. Aiming to make this event a yearly tradition as it is at other universities, the students decided on running during the first rain of every school year (since other events, like the first school day or first snow had already been taken by other universities).
Monday, September 28, 2009
The Robot Guys
So, there's some people in our hall,
wearing cardboard boxes,
and singing songs from Grease.
They're robots, and they are freaking awesome.
I love college.
wearing cardboard boxes,
and singing songs from Grease.
They're robots, and they are freaking awesome.
I love college.
Monday, September 21, 2009
Um... Holy Shit College II?
So today was interesting,
got up at like 8:30
showered 'n stuff 'til like 9:30
had breakfast...
... logged onto FFXI ...
talked to mah Pecker... ♥
(Just so ya'll know, this is the normal highlight of my day.... :])
... got a SH+1 from Calvvvvvvvvvvvin...
Tried to fix my FPS problem again (no success)
Went to dinner... dinner kinda sucked :(
saw my Slug though! Yay Slug!
Um... went to this insane long ass Porter Core Class meeting thing...
I don't know how I kept my eyes open. Seriously. The first speaker was 10x better than the 2nd and good lord by the time we got to her I was just dying... thank god class isn't 2 1/2 hours long...
THEN...
Benjamin FUCKING Porter time...
Huh? Wut?
Okay, so like...
after super long boring thing of doom...
Our Slugs had set up a little "initiation"
Not hazing, mind you.
I don't do that shit.
So... we walk... the Slugs are dressed up in like tribal clothing with Squiggles painted all over them... was hilarious :]
They were playing drums... walking through the woods at 10 PM... o.O
It was kinda scary. I might've been freaking the fuck out.
Just maybe. You'll never know.
Then... we got to Porter...
... the "Portacle" spoke. XD
We danced. There were glow sticks. There was noise. There was insanity. There was a conga line. It was amazing.
Then the Slugs told us to go get stuff to make noise with... I went back to dorm and put all things purple on. (Violas + cold = bad noise ; ;)
We went to the middle of the campus, in some field, and just chanted danced and made noise for like... ever... XD
WHEN I SAY BEN, YOU SAY FUCKING PORTER!!
It was SO INTENSE! Craziest thing I've ever seen... o,o.
Porter College~
is the best fucking college in the world!!
Porter College~
Some dude brought a straight freakin' garbage can.... it was our "bass"
... and the bag pipe guy was there
bag pipes are freakin' awesome
Oh! The Slugs know how to dance to Thriller. Amazing.... :]
I just had a really good time... Ohh Emm Gee Homie Status.
Slugs told me it happens often, I am excited.
I'm thinking twice about skipping the Boardwalk Frolic tomorrow now.
I just gotta see if I can find my Slug so I don't have to hang out with Kim's little boy toy squad.... if I do... ugh...
They're rather annoying. DERP DERP DERP...
:3
Hrmmm.... H203... Slug.
Tomorrow, oh lord.
Tomorrow, there will be more blog.
and it will be SO INTENSE!!
got up at like 8:30
showered 'n stuff 'til like 9:30
had breakfast...
... logged onto FFXI ...
talked to mah Pecker... ♥
(Just so ya'll know, this is the normal highlight of my day.... :])
... got a SH+1 from Calvvvvvvvvvvvin...
Tried to fix my FPS problem again (no success)
Went to dinner... dinner kinda sucked :(
saw my Slug though! Yay Slug!
Um... went to this insane long ass Porter Core Class meeting thing...
I don't know how I kept my eyes open. Seriously. The first speaker was 10x better than the 2nd and good lord by the time we got to her I was just dying... thank god class isn't 2 1/2 hours long...
THEN...
Benjamin FUCKING Porter time...
Huh? Wut?
Okay, so like...
after super long boring thing of doom...
Our Slugs had set up a little "initiation"
Not hazing, mind you.
I don't do that shit.
So... we walk... the Slugs are dressed up in like tribal clothing with Squiggles painted all over them... was hilarious :]
They were playing drums... walking through the woods at 10 PM... o.O
It was kinda scary. I might've been freaking the fuck out.
Just maybe. You'll never know.
Then... we got to Porter...
... the "Portacle" spoke. XD
We danced. There were glow sticks. There was noise. There was insanity. There was a conga line. It was amazing.
Then the Slugs told us to go get stuff to make noise with... I went back to dorm and put all things purple on. (Violas + cold = bad noise ; ;)
We went to the middle of the campus, in some field, and just chanted danced and made noise for like... ever... XD
WHEN I SAY BEN, YOU SAY FUCKING PORTER!!
It was SO INTENSE! Craziest thing I've ever seen... o,o.
Porter College~
is the best fucking college in the world!!
Porter College~
Some dude brought a straight freakin' garbage can.... it was our "bass"
... and the bag pipe guy was there
bag pipes are freakin' awesome
Oh! The Slugs know how to dance to Thriller. Amazing.... :]
I just had a really good time... Ohh Emm Gee Homie Status.
Slugs told me it happens often, I am excited.
I'm thinking twice about skipping the Boardwalk Frolic tomorrow now.
I just gotta see if I can find my Slug so I don't have to hang out with Kim's little boy toy squad.... if I do... ugh...
They're rather annoying. DERP DERP DERP...
:3
Hrmmm.... H203... Slug.
Tomorrow, oh lord.
Tomorrow, there will be more blog.
and it will be SO INTENSE!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)